villawashington.blogg.se

Solidworks customize shortcut bar
Solidworks customize shortcut bar








solidworks customize shortcut bar
  1. #Solidworks customize shortcut bar update#
  2. #Solidworks customize shortcut bar windows#

SOLIDWORKS originally has ctrl+a as Select All. SOLIDWORKS needs ctrl+q (rebuild) and I differ from most people by setting ctrl+a as Save As.

#Solidworks customize shortcut bar windows#

I use the normal Windows shortcuts, ctrl+c, ctrl+v (copy & paste), ctrl+w (close), ctrl+z (undo), ctrl+s (save). This way my left hand pivots with the fingers when selecting the required keys, or combination of keys. So my right hand rests on my trackball and my left palm rests and covers the lower left corner of the keyboard. As a Trackball ( Logitech M570) user (a little more on that later) I don’t need any great movement with my right arm. I now, for the majority of my shortcuts only use the left side of the keyboard. My keyboard shortcuts have evolved over the years. Before the “ribbon” toolbars came along, commands in Autocad were almost exclusively keyboard driven. I’m a keyboard shortcut guy! It started went I first moved to SOLIDWORKS as a hangover from my Autocad days. Although I don’t have a great need to select from the toolbar with the majority of my daily workflow but when I do, the selection is more by memory than sight. It surprises me how little I see this changed! No matter how large your screen is, you can never have too much work area! I do have show tool tips active just in case! Sometimes we all need a little help. Particularly it you are modeling with a combination of solids and surfaces I deselect Large Buttons with text and set the Icon size to small. Although I have tried to keep the the need, to access features from the Toolbars, down to a minimal, it is nice to be able to toggle though to another set of tools. Accessing Customize (Tools> Customize or Options> Customize after activating a model space (a new or opened part). I just want my assembly to open in the quickest possible time. I don’t care if parts are going to be loaded suppressed or any other warning. Before SOLIDWORKS 2015 you would have to manually respond to ever dialogue box that popped up informing you of parts with missing paths.

#Solidworks customize shortcut bar update#

I select Dismiss reference update dialogue update boxes when opening assemblies after: I have it set at 1 second. The other selection I have set is under Messages/ Errors/Warning. I have it set to Magenta (R255, G0, B255) It’s vibrant and stands out which assists greatly when trying to discover that dangling relation It is particular difficult to see against the standard grey model and even harder to see against timber grain appearances! What the point of having a warning if you can’t see it. The default colour is Olive (R128, G128, B0). I have two other selections made in System Options. It is a very rare time that I wouldn’t sketch normal to plane. Select new sketch and the model automatically rotates so the selected face is normal to the sketch plane. No matter how your model is orientated/ rotated, with a RMB selection on a face or plane, the context toolbar displays. Under Sketch Options, I have Auto-rotate view normal to sketch plane on sketch creation selected. along with using Mouse Gestures and selecting from the pop up context toolbars.Īlong with customisation of the interface I have a few options I like to have set in Systems Options. My workflow consists of using a combination of Keyboard shortcuts, which include using both the default “S” & “D” keys. Even with such a simple model you can see the greatly reduced mouse travel, with the majority of selections being slightly right of the centre of the screen. Now if I create the same model accessing the features via my customised interface. Using only selections from the toolbar, FeatureManager and the HUD (Heads Up Display)

solidworks customize shortcut bar

This is the trace pattern of my mouse movement ( IOGraphica) to create the model. I’ll first model it without using any of my shortcuts methods. An extrude, a couple of extruded cuts and a fillet. If I create a simple model consisting of only four features. The goal is to try and keep the majority of my mouse movements to a small radius, based around the centre, or more correctly slight right of, centre of my screen. For myself and I speculate, most others, it is about minimizing the amount of mouse travel and the required number of mouse clicks. Along with how I have adopted (& adapted) to these methods.īefore I run through my own set up, let me provide some insight into why I work the way I do. Due in part to SOLIDWORKS development of new methods of accessing tools. My own personal setup have evolved over the years. SOLIDWORKS provides a wide range of customisation when it comes to how you work within the product. Not just their methodology & the use of the tools and features, but how they have their interface set up and go about their workflow. I always find it interesting to see how other people use SOLIDWORKS.










Solidworks customize shortcut bar